Sunday, January 31, 2010

Herschel: He's 47 and 1-0

Herschel Walker isn't close to being the fighter as he was the football player, but nevertheless he won his initial MMA event by defeating Greg Nagy in a TKO in the third round. Nagy came into the fight with an MMA record of 1-1. Walker has much to learn as a fighter, but his victory Saturday night put his trainers at the American Kickboxing Academy in the position of having to decide if he is worthy of another bout. He cannot defeat many other fighters on shear athleticism as he did Nagy, so he will have to make significant improvement in his fighting skills to advance much further. Opinion On Sports is betting that Walker will fight again, and more than once. He won't ever be an MMA champion, but he will prove himself to be good for the sport. But he learned Saturday that the MMA fans are an impatient lot. If he doesn't progress, the boos will rain down hard, making it tough for the Old Man to "Fight On".

Roger Federer: And the Beat Goes On...

Roger Federer has extended his own record of Grand Slam titles to 16. He defeated Andy Murray 6-3, 6-4, 7-6(11) to claim the Australian Open title at Rod Laver Arena for the fourth time. Federer has now played in 22 Grand Slam finals, including 18 in the last 19 events. Let that soak in a minute if you will. That's making the finals, not just appearing in the tournament itself. It is remarkable for a player to show that kind of exemplary consistency over such a long period in showcase events. Murray was to end the 74 year old drought for British men in Grand Slam tournaments, but against Federer it was not to be. Even after Federer's nemesis, Rafael Nadal, proclaimed that this would be the year for Murray to win the Australian, he couldn't pull it off. However, even Federer admitted about himself that he had played some of the best tennis of his life the past two weeks. And that comes from the game's greatest player who has had plenty of great 'two-week spans' in an already illustrious career. It could be a long year for all the other competitors in Grand Slam events this year. After all, it's "16" and counting.

Geno & Jeff: Their Stock is Rising

Former Bulldogs Geno Atkins(56) and Jeff Owens(95) both had successful weeks at the Senior Bowl in Mobile, Alabama. The two defensive tackles seem to have vaulted their way into the second round projections of the upcoming NFL draft. The pair surprised NFL scouts with their ability to combine quickness, explosiveness and strength. Neither player had what you would call dominant seasons last year to end their college careers in Athens, so the week in Mobile took on added importance to the two. They certainly did not let themselves down in practices, nor in the game itself. With a continuation of strong workouts in the spring leading up to the NFL combines, the defensive linemen could be sneaking into the first round of the draft. Not a bad "catch" for a pair of Georgia fishermen.

Tim Tebow: A Gator Out of His Element

Perhaps for the first time in his life, Tim Tebow looked out of place on a football field. Critics have labeled his performance in the Senior bowl as "shaky", and that descriptive is being kind to the former Florida Gator. He was 8 for 12 for 50 yards passing, his longest completion being a whopping eleven yards. He looked awkward and appeared to be uncomfortable throwing the football while running an offense dependant on a quarterback's arm. He also threw in two fumbles for good measure. Tebow is a winner in every sense of the word, and the NFL team that drafts him will be doing so with that in mind. His talent was a great fit for the college game, but it will have to be refined for the professional arena. The team that needs a young quarterback will have several legitimate candidates to consider before giving Tebow the slightest thought. He will be drafted at some point by an NFL franchise, if for no other reason than his name and college accomplishments. However, he has a long way to go to become a legitimate player at the next level. He'll sign a contract and make some substantial dollars, but they might be in payment for wearing a cap and holding a clipboard.

Thursday, January 28, 2010

Eastern Washington: A Red Turf For Real?

If Boise State can gain notoriety by playing home games on a blue field, then Eastern Washington feels a red turf should do the same for them. The Division 1-AA school announced this week their plans to have a "bright red field" installed. I guess where Clemson has their "Death Valley", Florida plays in "The Swamp", and Georgia has the infamous "Between the Hedges", now Eastern Washington can have their "Dread Bed of Red"!

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

No Clydesdales for the N.F.L.

For the first time since 2001, the Super Bowl advertisements will not feature the Budweiser Clydesdales. The company will run ads for Bud and Bud Light, but they will not feature the majestic horses. One commercial was filmed with the horses, but it did not test well enough to 'make the show'. Too bad for all of the viewers. I always thought they were the highlight of the ever popular championship game ads.

Andre Dawson: It's Montreal in the "Hall"

Newly elected Hall-of-Famer Andre Dawson will go into the Hall as a Montreal Expo, not as a Chicago Cub as he would have preferred. This decision was made by the Hall of Fame induction committee, who felt that Dawson made his greatest impact on the game while playing for the Expos. He played his first eleven seasons with Montreal, then six seasons in Chicago, followed by two each in Boston and Florida. The "Hawk", who retired from the game in 1996, was under the impression that he would have input into the selection of his induction team. This was not the case, but all the teams a player was a member of are listed on his Hall of Fame plaque. So in the end it's all good because Andre Dawson is finally going into baseball's Hall of Fame. Regardless of what insignia is on his cap.

Terrence Cody: All 370 Pounds of Him

Terrence Cody weighed in at a whopping 370 pounds at the Senior Bowl as practices got underway in Mobile, Alabama. He looks like a heart attack waiting to happen. He also looks like he could win a lot of wet T-shirt contests. Maybe he should visit the closest Victoria Secret store and get sized up with one of those 'cross-your-heart' models. He might be one heck of a nose guard, but he sure is no 'looker". He could go topless at Halloween and scare the crap out of little kids. Hey, is this what they mean by "Roll Tide"?

Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Dawgs for Haiti

If you haven't made a donation yet to the relief effort in Haiti, this link is a great place to do so:

The funds are divided evenly between the Red Cross and Doctors Without Borders. By the way, pick up a T-shirt with the logo above on it while you're at it.

Sunday, January 24, 2010

Georgia Nails Tennessee: One, Two, Three!

The Georgia Bulldogs men's basketball team defeated 8th ranked Tennessee 78-63 Saturday afternoon in a sold-out Stegeman Coliseum. And that is a big deal. The packed venue, the conference victory, the all-out effort by the guys; all of this is new to Georgia men's hoopsters.
Consider this:
  • Saturday was this season's first SEC win for the Dawgs
  • Saturday was Georgia's first victory over a Top 10 team since 2004
  • Saturday was the first sold out game in Stegeman in three years

And just for good measure, The Lady Dawgs defeated Pat Summitt's Lady Vols on Thursday night, while the Georgia swimmers defeated Tennessee Saturday morning. Not many 'Rocky Top' tunes this week Boys!

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Herschel Walker: People Get Ready...

Herschel Walker will be 48 years old in a little more than five weeks. But he has a lot to do before he can celebrate another birthday. On January 30th, Walker will make his MMA debut against Greg Nagi. This is no hoax, no publicity stunt. This is for real. He has trained diligently at one of the sports most renowned gyms, the American Kickboxing Academy in San Jose. As Walker himself has said, he's "in it to win it", and don't let those 47 years of age fool you. His trainers say age is a non-issue because he's more like 47 going on 22 than he is 47 going on 48. He eats only one meal a day (no meats , no fish) and does an untold amount of sit-ups and push-ups, but still lifts no weights. He never sleeps more than four hours per night, and weighs in at a rock-solid 217 pounds. There are no guarantees in MMA fighting, and anything can happen in any given match. However, even with Herschel's lack of training in this sport, I wouldn't count him out because of his tremendous physical condition and enormous willpower. Nagi will be in for a heck of a fight. People get ready, "there's a train a comin'"!

Friday, January 22, 2010

NASCAR: It's About Time...

NASCAR finally opened its eyes, or it finally got its head out of its butt, whichever you prefer. I've been stating for years that the sport of stock car auto racing had become boring, at best. There was no individualism to the sport anymore. One driver couldn't out-drive another with the best man winning. NASCAR had placed too many restrictions on both the cars and the drivers. They had micro-controlled the sport to the point where it wasn't really racing anymore. It was the outdoors version of WWE, and the governing body would have loved to had victory lane set-up before the green flag dropped. It had become a complete joke. Evidently, the venting of both drivers and fans has made an impression on the "Powers That Be" in NASCAR. This season, they have declared that drivers can go back to 'racin' and feudin' the way NASCAR was in its heyday. The way it is supposed to be. Just like the old saying goes: "If you ain't rubbing, you ain't racing"!

Thursday, January 21, 2010

The Kings Firecrackers: Awesome!

The Kings Firecrackers are a performance jump rope team form Ohio, and they are awesome! You have already probably heard of them, or seen them, because their YouTubes have hits in the millions. The team is composed of 4th through 8th graders who make the team through tryouts. These dynamic girls practice five or six times per week for around two hours each session. They have performed at halftimes of college and NBA games, the Macy's Thanksgiving Day Parade. a Presidential Inauguration, and The David Letterman Show. Wherever they perform, they give their audiences more than their money's worth. They put on unforgettable and unbelievable exhibitions every time they are showcased. The Firecrackers have a rare combination of quickness, agility, ability, stamina, and coordination. They are truly athletes in every sense of the word.

Jack Nicklaus: "A Legend in His Spare Time" is 70

Jack Nicklaus is 70 years old today. My how times does fly. We won't see another "Golden Bear". Not a golfer with all the attributes, both on and off the course, as Nicklaus. A tremendous competitor, made up of talent, desire, and intelligence. He played and respected the game as it was meant to be. He displayed character and class while becoming not only a champion, but a magnificent ambassador for the game. I've always believed that Arnold Palmer with his vibrant, compelling personality, put golf on the map. I believe Nicklaus, with his uncompromising skill that was foreign to the sport, took the game to the next level. And I believe together they propelled golf into the worldwide stage it occupies today. The accomplishments of Jack Nicklaus on the course will perhaps one day be eclipsed, but the essence of the man will never be surpassed. Happy 70th, Jack!

Wednesday, January 20, 2010

Tim Tebow: Invited to the "Show" or Not

Will Tim Tebow be invited to the NFL Draft or not? Usually, invitees are players who are sure to go in the first round, or if not, at least early second. With Tebow, there is speculation that he could go as low as the third round, but also those who say he'll be a first rounder. So, do they bring him in knowing he might have to be there quite a while, or don't ask him at all? I say bring the kid in, bump up the ratings, and let him sit for a while if necessary. The press has never had any difficulty gloating over him during his collegiate career, so I'm sure they can do more than enough ad-libbing if necessary. Either way, it's nothing to cry about. Right, Tim?

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Hey Junior, Stay And Be A Senior

A record tying 53 non-seniors applied for this year's NFL draft. The number last year was 46. I've said before that when the Pros dangle those millions in front of college under-grads, they have to take the money and run. If fact, the only two rational reasons for a player to abort college early are: 1) the money, and 2) the fear of injury in college translating into no money. So you see in the end it all boils down to money, and rightfully so. That's what the professional game is all about. Sometimes players trade the quick money for the chance to mature in college and have a more successful pro career. But for all the wrong reasons for leaving, there are right reasons as well. Perhaps for every player who should have stayed, there is also a player who should have gone. This year, Ole Miss quarterback Jevan Snead should have remained in college, Georgia linebacker Rennie Curran is a toss-up, and Tennessee safety Eric Berry did the right thing leaving early. There is no magic formula to determine the right choice versus the wrong choice. Every year guys will take the early-out to enter the NFL. Sometimes they are the only ones who know if they chose correctly, and that answer might not be known for several years.

Chan Gailey Goes to Buffalo - Why?

Chan Gailey will become the new head coach of the Buffalo Bills. Any idea why? The only criteria that I read that he matched was "previous head coaching experience". That and the fact that Bill Cowher already turned Buffalo down. As did Mike Shanahan and Brian Schottenheimer. This sounds a lot like the University of Tennessee coaching search. Perhaps Buffalo GM Buddy Nix and Tennessee AD Mike Hamilton went to the same school on hiring head coaches. Even though Gailey inherits a team that only went 6-10 this past season, I can't see this as going down as a popular hire in Buffalo. Especially when the city was clamoring for the team to somehow persuade Cowher out of retirement. I don't have anything against Chan Gailey, except for the fact that he once coached the Yellow Tech Jackets, but I just think there other candidates out there more viable. But then again, maybe they would have all been like the ones mentioned above: none of them wanted to go to Buffalo.

Monday, January 18, 2010

Keith Brooking: Just Get Over It

Most of the time, I could care less about professional sports.  I follow the Atlanta Falcons, and I do know what's going on in the NFL.  However, I seldom get too worked up about the Pro game.  I'm pretty much NCAA all the way.  I did watch the playoff game yesterday between Minnesota and Dallas.  One, because the weather wasn't so great in Central Georgia; and two, because I wanted to see the Cowboys lose so that Georgia's new defensive coordinator could get to Athens and begain working.  You see, the defensive line coach for Dallas, Todd Grantham, has been named the 'Dawgs new DC. I don't want him in Dallas working, I want him here working. With all of that prelim out of the way, the reason for this post is Dallas limebacker Keith Brooking.  Minnesota won the game handily 34-3. Brooking had a big problem with the Vikings last score, which came with 1:55 left in the contest game.  He said it was classless and disrespectful.  I think that was what his remarks about the Falcons organization were as well earlier in the year.  Where does he come off with all of this nobility all of a sudden?  Who the heck is Keith Brooking anyway?  It's professional football. Anything goes. In college, you'd have a valid point.  Not the Pros.  You play defense;  you don't like the touchdown, you should have played harder to prevent it.  Oh yea 'Brook', there's no crying in football.  Get over it already.

Saturday, January 16, 2010

Hey Barbara, "Precious" Is A Vol!

Derek Dooley is the new Tennessee head football coach. The kid whose mom, Barbara, called him "Precious" has hit the Big Top (Rocky Top that is). Dooley arrived in Knoxville from Louisiana Tech, where he was employed for the past three years not only as head football coach, but athletic director as well. He brings the promise of stability and integrity to Big Orange Country, two intangibles sorely missing yet needed in that storied program. The former University of Virginia graduate, as well as, University of Georgia Law School graduate will bring intelligence and diligence to the only vocation he truly loves. Dooley, like his dad Vince, is a football coach. Coaching football is his passion, and he will give Tennessee every ounce of his professionalism. I don't know if Derek Dooley is the 'splash' the Vol Nation was looking for or not, but he is far from the 'drip' they just got rid of. Best of luck, Precious, but I do hope that first loss as a Volunteer comes in your Dad's old stomping grounds on October 9th, between those hallowed hedges in Athens, Georgia. Barbara Dooley will be the only Dawg wearing orange that day.

David Cutcliffe: Loyalty Above Self

Less than 48 hours ago, David Cutcliffe was set to return to the University of Tennessee as it's next head football coach. It was apparently a done deal until a not-so-minor detail got in the way. That last detail involved Tennessee's ridiculous predicament with assistants from the previous staff, and Cutcliffe's unwavering loyalty to his current staff. Six current staff members are still under contract with UT, some of them with multi-year deals. The Vols didn't think they could eat those contractual dollars, thus forcing the next head coach to have to keep them on his staff. Cutcliffe wanted to bring his entire staff from Duke along with him to Knoxville. He said "all or none", virtually taking himself out of the running for the job. It takes one heck of a lot of integrity for a football guy to turn down one of the top jobs in the top football conference in the land to remain at a basketball school in the top basketball conference in the land. Tennessee just got rid of a guy with no integrity, and missed out on a guy with tons of it. Go figure...

Friday, January 15, 2010

Todd Grantham: New Dawg In The House

After a six week search to find the right man, Georgia's Mark Richt has announced that the Cowboys' Todd Grantham will be the Dawg's new defensive coordinator. If you're a Dawg, you gotta love this statement by Grantham: "I look forward to developing an aggressive, physical, attacking style of defense that offenses will not look forward to playing against". When was the last time we heard that kind of defensive talk out of Athens? Welcome aboard Coach Grantham. Let the Big Dawg eat!

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Alabama: Too Early For "Dynasty" Label

The latest Issue (1/18/2010) of Sports Illustrated proclaims Alabama as a collegiate football dynasty. SI believes all the ingredients are in place for the Tide to continue rolling on and collecting more crystal balls. But isn't this proclamation of superiority just a little early? I do understand the players returning to Tuscaloosa next season, the wealth of talent due to tremendous recruiting years, the prowess of Nick Saban, the ghost of the Bear, etc, etc, etc. It is a storied program, but this national title is just 'one' lately. Let's at least see a repeat before we continue with this dynasty talk. I even venture to say that Alabama should dwell in the Top 5 for five or six years, claiming one or two more titles in that span. Let us see them do that and I'm all in on his talk. Because until then who knows, they might be just a "one and done" memory.

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Cadillac Says "No Mas" to Tiger

General Motors has said there will be no more free vehicles for Tiger Woods to use. However, the company said this decision has absolutely nothing to do with Woods last debacle in his Cadillac Escalade. Yea, right GM. The golfer's deal with Buick ended in 2008, but there was an agreement that allowed Tiger the free use of GM vehicles. That particular agreement was said to have conveniently expired 12/31/2009. What a waste that Tiger Woods did not have any vehicle expense. If anyone in America could indeed afford that expense (or any other for that matter), it would be Woods. It's a good thing the freebie ride is over. It's a bad thing it ever existed to begin with. Heck, Tiger didn't even have to pay for the damages he inflicted upon the Escalade. Why should he, it wasn't even his vehicle. Go figure...

Lane Kiffin: Hit The Road, Jack!

The topsy-turvy off-season of college football continues. Just to preface by recounting a few instances: Brian Kelly leaves Cincinnati for Notre Dame, abandoning the Bearcats for their bowl game; Mike Leach was dismissed at Texas Tech amid a scandal involving the son of an ESPN analyst; Urban Meyer resigned at Florida, then un-resigned for a leave of absence; Florida State's Bobby Bowden was forced into retirement by the University and replaced by "coach in waiting" Jimbo Fisher; Jim Leavitt was fired at South Florida over a player incident/cover-up; Pete Carroll suddenly left Southern Cal for a return to the Pro ranks, and Lane Kiffin dished Tennessee in the shadow of national signing day to replace Carroll at USC. Whew, had enough? Those are just the 'high spots'. However, there have been other head coaching changes as well (Kentucky, Kansas, Louisville, Buffalo, etc). What a December/January in the collegiate coaching ranks! Never a dull moment, huh? Taking the Kiffin/Tennessee saga a bit further, that one really shocked me. Kiffin was about to nail his second Top 5 recruiting class in a row, he was coaching in the premier football conference in America, and it was beginning to appear as if he could back up his brash mouth and attitude with positive results. I did not consider that the lure of returning to Southern Cal would have led to an instant decision on his part to abandon the groundwork he had established in Knoxville. But I guess I failed to consider Kiffin himself, the ultimate "here today, gone tomorrow" coaching nomad. It seems he sure has reaped a lot of monetary rewards at his two head jobs (Oakland & Tennessee) without staying long enough (one year each) to pay that much into the respective programs. I think Al Davis is looking better every minute now. Nevertheless, the 'Brash Boy' of the SEC has run back to the west coast and the southeast is better for it already. Believe me, Vol Nation, you will be better off in the long run. You see, Kiffin doesn't seem to like long runs anyway.

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

Joe "Willie" Namath: Super Bowl III

On this date, January 12, 1969, Joe Namath led his New York Jets to a monumental upset of the Baltimore Colts in Super Bowl III. It was the AFL's first victory in the championship game, a victory that Namath famously "guaranteed" to the press during the week preceding the game. Namath was named the game's most outstanding player, going 17 of 28 for 206 yards. The Jets Matt Snell rushed for 121 yards as well. The win over the Colts legitimized the merger between the two professional football leagues, earning tremendously needed credibility for the AFL, for Namath, and for the Jets franchise..

Kirby Smart: No "Dawg Days" In His Future

Kirby Smart will remain at The University of Alabama as their defensive coordinator (or as their co-defensive coordinator with Nick Saban, if you prefer). Smart will not be returning to his Alma mater as Georgia's defensive coordinator as was rumored/speculated. Unlike many of my UGA colleagues, I see two "rights" in this scenario. I think Mark Richt and Georgia were right to offer Smart the Dawg DC job. After all, he is considered to be one of the top assistant coaches in the country (along with fellow former Dawg Will Muschamp). He played football at Georgia, and his wife was a Lady Dawg basketball player, so it would have been a good fit for both of them. The chance to come 'home' seemed like it would be an enticing lure for Smart. Georgia's reported offer would have made him the third highest assistant in the land. So emotionally as well as monetarily, the hire would have been good for both parties. But realistically, the career path for Kirby will be faster and smoother with Saban and the Tide. I presume he aspires to be a head coach one day, and the lateral move to Athens wasn't going to hasten that. It might not have hurt it either, but Richt might have had to go through all of this again sooner than he would have liked. Smart will be offered a college head coaching position soon. Meanwhile, Georgia will find the 'right' guy to fill their coaching vacancy, and it will be someone who wants to be at Georgia and help the Dawgs get back to the level of defensive intensity they so desire. These two "rights" will turn into two "wins" when it's all said and done.

Mark McGwire: No Check-Swing This Time

So now it's official. Mark McGwire used steroids. He admitted it himself. We already new it, he just confirmed it. He stands a little taller in my eyes for coming out with this, but he would have been much taller had he stood up before congress in 2005 and told all. And don't think he wouldn't have made a lot of other guys sitting at that table squirm worse than if a 95 MPH fastball was coming straight at their noggins. He could have left out the part where he said he would have been the same power hitter without the enhancement of drugs. There's simply too much speculation for him to sell that notion. He'll really never know for sure, and thus neither will we. Nevertheless, I'm glad he came forward with his revelation before spring practice begins. As the Cardinals new hitting instructor, he doesn't need the past hanging over his head. He'll be a good coach for St Louis, and it will be good to have him back in baseball.

Monday, January 11, 2010

Rennie Curran: We Hate To See You Go...

I realize that these guys do have to exit the college game early when those mega-bucks are waved in their faces. It's a "once-in-a-lifetime" opportunity, as they say. Nevertheless, I wish good guys like Rennie Curran would play out their college eligibility runs and get closer to graduation. I really catch myself wanting to get down on Curran for his decision to go pro early, but he's such a great kid. I just have to wish him the best. Most of us UGA fans believe the next defensive coordinator will be an upgrade to our past situation, and that Curran could bust out with a super senior season under a new defensive philosophy. The new coordinator is coming, but Rennie is going. Too Bad. I bet they would have made a terrific pair.

Thursday, January 7, 2010

Dan LeFevour: Collegiate Quarterback Forever?

Is it just me, or does it seem like Dan LeFevour has been playing college football forever? He's had to have eight or ten years of college eligibility. We've been hearing about him as quarterback of the Central Michigan Chippewas for ages. Well that long, drawn out, four-year career has finally ended. LeFevour led his team to a dramatic come from behind double overtime victory over Troy University Wednesday night in the GMAC Bowl 44-41. He was 33 of 55 for 395 yards, and ended his career in 2nd place for career total yards with 15,853. LeFevour probably hasn't received the notoriety that he should have, but he will definitely get a shot at football at the next level. Nevertheless, we can't say about him that "we hardly even knew you".

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

Will Muschamp: The Ultimate Coordinator

Will Muschamp doesn't throw "Pity Parties". He's never thrown one for himself, and he isn't going to throw one for you. If you throw sorrow at him, he'll show you his 17 inch steel rod and send you on your way. That's the same rod that was placed in his leg by a surgeon in 1989 after a double, compound fracture he suffered in a baseball game. His career as an athlete was looking down the barrel of elimination. Elimination probably would have won if not for the heart and determination of Muschamp. So he knows all about tough breaks and hard luck. However, he knows more about being tough and working hard. He walked on at the University of Georgia and played safety for the Bulldogs from 1991-1994. His first real coaching job was at West Georgia College in 1998, where he made $12,000 and did everything from lining the field to washing uniforms. Now, twelve quick years later, he is the defensive coordinator and "head coach in waiting" at the University of Texas at a salary of $900,000. Not a bad career up to this point for Muschamp, and it will just continue to get better. Texas head man Mack Brown isn't going anywhere anytime soon, but when he does Texas will continue to be in good hands under the leadership of Will Muschamp.

Georgia Basketball: That "Stegeman Streak"

Georgia Tech had not won a basketball game in Georgia's Stegeman Colosseum in 34 years. After Tuesday night's thrashing at the hands of the Bulldogs, they still haven't won in Athens in 34 years. The 20th ranked Yellow Jackets were outplayed by an undermanned Georgia team, and were defeated 73-66. Tech had all the talent on the court, but the Dawgs had all the heart. Mark Fox got every ounce he could have gotten out of his Georgia team, while Paul Hewitt didn't get very many ounces out of his Tech squad at all. Yellow Tech took a butt-kicking back to Atlanta last night, and they will take several more as they get into the thick of their ACC season. The Bulldogs themselves won't highlight many scoreboards this season either. They really aren't very athletic, and they won't be a tournament basketball team. However, if they continue to improve by getting more comfortable in their new system and continue to play hard like they did against the Jackets, they just might surprise a few teams. But for now let's just savor the fact that it is always great to Wreck Tech!

Atlanta Braves: What A Deal

This date back in time: On January 6, 1976, Ted Turner purchased the Atlanta Braves for $12 million. Today, the Atlanta franchise is valued at $446 million, and is owned by Liberty Media. Liberty Media purchased the MLB club in 2007 for $400 million. Although Turner is not involved in professional sports ownership anymore, he is the largest American landowner, with ownership in fifteen different ranches.

Tuesday, January 5, 2010

Hey Bobby: Don't Take All Those Wins With You...

Florida State has apparently lost its appeal to save Bobby Bowden 14 wins that were in jeopardy due to an academic cheating scandal. Bowden retired after Friday's Gator Bowl game. Official statements from both the NCAA, as well as Florida State, will be forthcoming. Sorry, Bobby. Dad-gum.

Boise State: Whatever It Takes...

Boise State defeated TCU in the Fiesta Bowl 17-10 Monday night. They accomplished this feat by pulling off a fake punt with the score tied at 10-10. When Boise plays, they play to win. They will pull out all the stops on you. They'll try anything, do anything, run anything if they believe it gives them a chance to win. These 'gambles' always seem to be calculated, rehearsed, and successful. You just gotta like a team that plays all-out like that. Chris Petersen's Broncos are for real, they've been legitimate, and they will continue to be in the collegiate football spotlight.

A Shocker in "Chuck Town"

The College of Charleston notched a monumental upset by defeating the North Carolina Tarheels 82-79 last night in Charleston. The Cougars tied the game with a clutch 3-pointer with two seconds left in regulation, then opened the extra period with another three and never looked back. Charleston led most of the game, however Carolina rallied and actually led 72-61 with four minutes remaining. But the Cougars' Andrew Goudelock got hot and scored the last eight points before overtime to propel C of C to victory. It was the first time the Cougars, coached by the infamous Bobby Cremins, had hosted a team ranked as high as the number 9 Tarheels. North Carolina in now 11-4 on the season, while the Cougars improved to 8-6.

Saturday, January 2, 2010

Florida Is Still Florida

For those of you who read this blog somewhat regularly, you know that I am "Georgia Bulldog" through and through. I am an Alumnus, I bleed red and black, I anguish with every misfortune, and rejoice with every victory. By saying all of this , I also readily admit to a keen dislike for Auburn, Florida, Georgia Tech, South Carolina, and Tennessee (just to hit the high spots!). Now that we have all of that understood, I must admit that I was very impressed with the Florida Gators in the Sugar Bowl last night. They were equally impressive as we were against Hawaii in that same bowl a few years ago. And Tim Tebow with 482 yards passing. I didn't see that coming. So much for the inner turmoil surrounding the indecisiveness of coach Urban Meyer and his Florida career. The Gators never missed a beat. And now for the real, unpleasant truth: they won't miss a beat for a long time. They still remain the team to beat in the SEC East. I realize they lose Mr. Tebow and an awful lot of that dynamic defense, but Florida is Florida and they will continue to be our nemesis for awhile longer. They will not give up a single thing. We, and everyone else, will have to earn every positive step we take against them. Everyone else has to step up, because they're not stepping down.

Friday, January 1, 2010

The Sky Is Falling, The Sky Is Falling

Gonzaga pasted Oklahoma Thursday night 83-69. Oklahoma pasted the backboard 1-0. With 15:34 remaining in regulation, the Sooners' Tiny Gallon missed an alley-hoop but grabbed the front of the rim with both hands, shattering the glass into a million pieces. The replacement of the board resulted in a 50 minute delay, as well as the prolonging of the inevitable thrashing on the court by the Zags. Gonzaga moved to 10-3 on the season, Oklahoma 8-5.

Travis Pastrana: Jump Into The New Year!

Travis Pastrana set a new rally car long jump just minutes after 2010 was ushered in. His jump of 274 feet shattered the previous mark by more than 100 feet. The feat took place in Long Beach, California over water onto a barge. Even though he was successful in keeping his Subaru dry, he capped off his successful leap by executing a back flip into the cold harbor water. Pastrana's stunt was a continuation of Red Bull's New Years, No Limit Series.

Happy New Year!

We begin again in 2010. Happy New Year everyone! Here's a New Year's wish that we all have a better '10 than we had in '09. Thank all of you for your support of An Opinion on Sports! I look forward to sharing my opinions with you as we go forward into the year. I only have one question bugging me as 2010 kicks off: Did they ever get 'Ole Man Sutter out of the well?